Phil Dalhausser in Klagenfurt, Austria Red Bull Photofiles

Phil Dalhausser and Todd Rogers have continued their dominant season, winning the AVP NIVEA Tour Hermosa Beach Open on Sunday, becoming the first team – men’s or women’s – to win the event in five consecutive years.

Dalhausser and Rogers, the top-seeded men’s team, beat 13th-seeded John Mayer and Matt Prosser, 21-14, 21-11, in Sunday’s final. They lost just one game in five matches throughout the weekend.

Their victory was their 54th open win together, moving them into third place all time, ahead of current AVP Commissioner Mike Dodd and Tim Hovland.

“It’s pretty cool considering only one other team has won five in a row (at the same location),” Rogers said, referring to Mike O’Bright and Mike O’Hara’s five straight Manhattan Beach wins from 1960-64. “It’s pretty special.”

Mayer and Prosser were the lowest-seeded men’s team to make a final this season. “I would definitely say I was happy to be there,” Mayer said. “I planned on winning, but they make it tough on you.”

The AVP NIVEA Tour will continue next week with the Long Beach, California Open from July 24-25, the seventh of 12 stops on the tour this season.


    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word at the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details