Mick Fanning wins world title 2009 ASP/ CI/ CESTARI via GETTY IMAGES

Mick Fanning has been crowned the 2009 ASP World Champion after a dramatic third day at the Billabong Pipe Masters in Hawaii.

Heading into the last stop of the 2009 ASP World Tour season, Fanning held a slender lead over his good friend and fellow Gold Coast surfer, Joel Parkinson, and when Parkinson was beaten by wildcard Gavin Gillette in Round 3 at the Banzai Pipeline, Fanning secured his second ASP World Title.

The title came down to the final event of the season for the first time since 2003 and an overjoyed Fanning was overcome with emotion at his victory.

“I'm at a loss for words,” Fanning said. “It's been such a crazy year and I had so much fun. I'm just shaking and lost for words.”

“If I wasn't in the race, I would have been gunning for Joel, for sure. He just had that bad ankle injury and surfed so good all year.”

'I'm just shaking and lost for words.' – Mick Fanning

The 2009 season became one of the most dramatic, as Parkinson won three of the first five events before Fanning launched his comeback in the closing stages of the season to overtake his compatriot.

“I knew I was surfing well,” Fanning said. “It was just a matter of getting that result. I knew it was going to turn around sooner or later. I don't know – it's weird the way the world works.”

Reminiscent of the scenes in Brazil after Fanning’s 2007 ASP World Title, the 28-year-old was in the water with Parkinson (between heats) as the destiny of the title was decided. The two lifelong friends embraced, exchanged words and paddled in separate directions.

Mick Fanning's 2009 ASP World Tour results
Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast, Australia: Equal 3rd
Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach, Australia: Equal 5th
Billabong Pro Teahupoo, Tahiti: Equal 9th
Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro, Brazil: Equal 5th
Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay, South Africa: Equal 17th
Hurley Pro Trestles, California, USA: Winner
Quiksilver Pro France: Winner
Billabong Pro Mundaka, Spain: Equal 9th
Rip Curl Pro Search, Portugal: Winner
Billabong Pipeline Masters, Hawaii: Equal 9th

Billabong Pipe Masters – round three results
Heat 1: Dean Morrison (AUS) 16.67 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 6.60
Heat 2: Mick Fanning (AUS) 17.57 def. Torrey Meister (HAW) 6.26
Heat 3: Damien Hobgood (USA) 15.07 def. Andy Irons (HAW) 6.10
Heat 4: John John Florence (HAW) 16.93 def. Bobby Martinez (USA) 15.16
Heat 5: Flynn Novak (HAW) 15.50 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 14.34
Heat 6: Tom Whitaker (AUS) 12.67 def. Michael Picon (FRA) 12.10
Heat 7: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 15.67 def. Chris Ward (USA) 10.66
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA) 19.33 def. Hank Gaskell (HAW) 14.17
Heat 9: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 12.66 def. Liam McNamara (HAW) 0.33
Heat 10: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 17.17 def. Roy Powers (HAW) 13.80
Heat 11: Taj Burrow (AUS) 12.83 def. Bruce Irons (HAW) 8.67
Heat 12: Dayyan Neve (AUS) 15.67 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 13.00
Heat 13: Phillip MacDonald (AUS) 15.17 def. Taylor Knox (USA) 11.94
Heat 14: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 16.33 def. Shane Dorian (HAW) 11.94
Heat 15: Gavin Gillette (HAW) 13.36 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 10.56
Heat 16: Dane Reynolds (USA) 14.20 def. Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) 10.43

Billabong Pipe Masters – round four results
Heat 1: Dean Morrison (AUS) 16.76 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 13.16
Heat 2: Damien Hobgood (USA) 13.66 def. John John Florence (HAW) 12.00
Heat 3: Flynn Novak (HAW) 12.34 def. Tom Whitaker (USA) 7.54
Heat 4: Kelly Slater (USA) 17.10 def. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 14.50
Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 12.83 def. Kieren Perrow (AUS) 8.50
Heat 6: Taj Burrow (AUS) 15.57 def. Dayyan Neve (AUS) 12.23
Heat 7: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 15.27 def. Phillip MacDonald (AUS) 5.87
Heat 8: Dane Reynolds (USA) 16.50 def. Gavin Gillette (HAW) 14.00

Catch up with the climax of the Billabong Pipe Masters at Red Bull Surfing


    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word at the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details