Gary Hunt Orlando Duque Hawaii podium Dean Treml/Red Bull


Orlando Duque received a belated birthday present with his first win of the 2010 Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series at the final stop in Hawaii but had to cede his title to Gary Hunt as the Brit was confirmed as the overall winner.

The Colombian, who turned 36 on Saturday, was pushed to the limit by Hunt, who only needed a single point to become the new champion. Duque saved his best performance of the Series for last.

Hunt was eighth after a disappointing dive in an otherwise high-scoring first round but his Triple Quad in the second catapulted him into first place, seemingly on his way to yet another win. However, dropped points in the first round were to prove costly as Duque capitalized to win, with his overall score of 396.90 beating Hunt's total by almost 10 points.

20,000 miles, six stops and 186 dives after it began, the Series decider at Kawainui Falls in Hilo more than lived up to its billing, with those spectators fortunate enough to have tickets witnessing a thrilling final competition.

Artem Silchenko got his first 10s in a World Series competition as the Russian stormed back from last place in the first round to a top-three finish at the end, cementing his position in third overall. His back armstand dive is as eye-catching as Hunt's Triple Quad, with the 26-year-old's third dive producing gasps of amazement.

Steve Black saw off competition from Alain Kohl, meanwhile, to confirm sixth place and secure automatic qualification to next year's World Series.

For the final competition, all 12 divers performed three dives, with those athletes finishing outside the top six after two rounds competing in a 'B' Final. Black and Kohl both found themselves in the latter group but the experienced Aussie Black scored a combined 301.05 points to Kohl's 274.50.

Eber Pava matched his performance in Mexico in June by finishing fourth for the second time in the Series, but the Colombian finished joint seventh overall with Kohl, meaning that the pair will join Michal Navratil, Cyrille Oumedjkane, Slava Polyeshchuk and Andrey Ignatenko in having to requalify for next year's World Series.



    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word at the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details