Iouri Podladtchikov in Davos Red Bull Photofiles

Swiss snowboard shredder Iouri Podladtchikov took the win at today’s O’Neill Evolution halfpipe contest in Davos, Switzerland, with Red Bull teammate and countryman Markus Keller in second.

Despite nailing his third run, which included a frontside 540, backside 900, frontside 1080 and a Cab double cork 1080, Iouri arrived at the bottom of the halfpipe in frustration.

“I was still really angry from screwing up my first and second runs and I didn’t really realize that I had just landed that third run,” he said. “I took all my stuff off angrily and then saw my score. I feel better now.”

His score of 91.33 pushed Keller into second position, but Keller won the Swatch Highest Air prize of $5,000 for his 4.2m (about 13-ft, 9-in) defiance of gravity.

“The scary part is actually the in-run,” said Markus. “In the air is where you get to enjoy it! I was first trying an air-to-fakie, but after all the other riders started to go for a highest air as well, I had to change to a frontside air.”

With the riders pushing each other - as well as the limits of snowboarding - it was a close and exciting final to entertain the crowds gathered at the bottom of the Jakobshorn.

“We really pushed each other out there,” said Keller. “It was getting closer and closer run after run. Iouri beat me on his last run but he was the only one allowed to do that!” Markus joked. "Actually, Christian Haller was allowed to beat me too. Our goal was to get three Swiss guys on the podium.”

However, Finnish rider Peetu Piiroinen had something to say to that – in the form of a frontside 720, a cab double cork 1080, a frontside air, a backside rodeo 720 and an alley oop 540. Peetu now moves up into second position on the Swatch TTR World Tour (behind Slovenian Red Bull star Marko Grilc) with this result.

Slopestyle semifinals are scheduled for Saturday, with a live webcast slated to begin at 1:25 a.m. PST/4:25 a.m. EST. Finals are scheduled about four hours later. For more info, check

1. Iouri Podladtchikov SUI 91.33
2. Markus Keller SUI 88.83
3. Peetu Piiroinen FIN 84.83
4. Markus Malin FIN 82.00
5. Ilkka-Eemeli Laari FIN 80.83
6. Christian Haller SUI 80.50
7. Stale Sandbech NOR 80.17
8. Masakaze Yoshida JPN 80.00
9. Fredrik Austbo NOR 76.67
10. Kosuke Hosokawa JPN 73.67


    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word at the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details