Robbie Maddison at Red Bull X-Fighters in London Predrag Vuckovic/Red Bull Photofiles

After the most spectacular showdown in the history of Red Bull X-Fighters in London in 2009, the premier freestyle motocross series in the world returns in 2010 with new riders, new locations and plenty of new tricks. This year will once again see the crème-de-la-crème of the international FMX scene battle it out for the coveted title of Red Bull X-Fighters Champion.

Jostling for a place with old classics such as the traditional curtain raiser in Mexico City and the legendary two-day event in the Spanish capital of Madrid will be new and exciting locations for 2010. The second event of the six-stop Tour will take place in the shadow of the Pyramids and the world famous Sphinx in the city of Giza, Egypt, where the dry heat and blazing sun will be sure to push the athletes to the limit.

The next highlight follows just weeks later, as the Red Square and the Kremlin in the Russian capital of Moscow host the world’s 12 best freestyle motocross athletes. Following Moscow, London will be recharged once more to electrify the crowd and the riders. Then Red Bull X-Fighters finally heads to the Eternal City, Rome, Italy, to crown the Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour Champion. 


Last year it was American Nate Adams who claimed the title in front of a sell-out crowd of 20,000 at London’s Battersea Power Station following a thrilling season full of twists and turns. This time around, Adams is back to defend his title and secure his place as one of the all-time greats of Red Bull X-Fighters.

Among his most dangerous challengers will be multi-world record holder Robbie Maddison (AUS), who will be looking to finally secure victory in the overall standings after placing third and second, respectively, in 2008 and 2009.

In 2010, Red Bull X-Fighters is no longer an invitational. Instead of holding a ranking event, qualifying will be done according to performance and the World Tour ranking. The top six riders will be pre-qualified. This means that Adams (USA), Maddison (AUS), Eigo Sato (JPN), 2008 Tour Champion Mat Rebeaud (SUI), Dany Torres (ESP) and Levi Sherwood (NZL) are already seeded for the season opener in Mexico, based on their standings at the end of the 2009 season.

Four additional spots will be battled over by six riders who have been selected by the international Red Bull X-Fighters jury following an application process which was started in autumn last year. Two Wild Card riders will complete the starting list.  “This method will guarantee a fair competition on the highest sportive level with only the very best riders competing at each single Tour stop,” explained Sports Director Tes Sewell.

Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour 2010
April 16th: Mexico City, Mexico
May 14th: Giza, Egypt
June 26th: Moscow, Russia
July 22nd/23rd: Madrid, Spain
August 14th: London, UK
October 1st: Rome, Italy

For more info, check out


    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word at the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details