Media Candy

Media Candy: the best in downloadable and streamable sweetness, every other Tuesday.

A$AP Rocky Drops Highly Anticipated Mixtape

If you were feeling overwhelmed by the astonishing amount of mixtapes dropped this year, you’re shit out of luck. Here’s yet another addition to the party. But if you weren’t already familiar with Harlem’s A$AP Rocky, you’ll be grateful for the introduction. On his debut mixtape “LiveLoveA$AP,” A$AP is a standout in a sea of underwhelming, indie rap releases. If you skip on him this time around, it won’t be long before you get another chance -- the 23-year-old rapper just inked a $3 million dollar deal with Sony/RCA subsidiary Polo Grounds. Money talks, and if “LiveLoveA$AP” is any indication, there’s lots more on the way for this promising rising star.

[Stream / download “LiveLoveA$AP” via LiveMixtapes]

Freddie Gibbs Follows Suit, Drops “Cold Day In Hell”

In other mixtape news, Freddie Gibbs dropped “Cold Day In Hell” yesterday. After slathering up in the A$AP butter to start things up, you’ll be asking yourself, “What’s the big deal here?” The big deal is that not only does Gibbs’ present some of his best work to date here, but he matches it up with some big time heavyhitters -- Young Jeezy, Three Six Mafia’s Juicy J, Freeway and Dom Kennedy all make appearances. The production credits are just as deep with Big K.R.I.T., Cardo, J.U.S.T.I.C.E League, DJ Burn One and others turning out tracks.

Kind of astonishing that something so stacked can be given away for free, right? You can thank clothing company LRG for that one. Check out Gibbs’ video for “Anything To Survive” right over here. Download “Cold Day In Hell” below.

[Download “Cold Day In Hell” via Mediafire]

Modeselektor & Thom Yorke Star In “Shipwreck”

You’ve got to love the fact that Berlin’s de facto electronic duo Modeselektor (who recently released their third album “Monkeytown”) and Radiohead’s Thom Yorke are total buddies. Because when mega musical minds like those combine, you get things like their “Monkeytown” collab “Shipwreck,” which just got the video treatment thanks to director Tony T. Datis. The single is available for purchase / download November 4.

Odd Future’s Syd The Kid Debuts “Cocaine”

When Syd The Kid isn’t spinning for Odd Future, she’s working on her solo project The Internet with producer Matt Martian. That project now has a general time frame for their debut release -- “Purple Naked Ladies” will drop via Odd Future Records by the end of the year. Tracks “Love Song -1” and “They Say” (both available on iTunes) have been floating around the web for a minute. And now “Cocaine,” which features rapper Leftbrain and can be purchased right here, joins the mix along with a video. Pretty typical romantic comedy set up -- two girls flirting and playing games at a carnival, doing blow and making out. Plus Tyler The Creator punts a stuffed animal into the air!

null Guided By Voices

Guided By Voices Plot 7” Series

After a 15-year hiatus, Guided By Voices made a big splash by announcing a yearlong stretch of tour dates with the “classic” line-up of the group. Things apparently went well as the group also recorded 21 songs together during that time. Those songs became “Let’s Go Eat The Factory,” due January 1 via the band’s own GBV Inc. To celebrate the occasion, the group is releasing a trio of 7” singles. The first in the series, “The Unsinkable Fats Domino / We Won’t Apologize For The Human Race,” is out November 22 and can be pre-ordered along with the full-length right over here. Can’t wait? “The Unsinkable Fats Domino” and additional track “Doughnut For A Snowman” are streaming right now.

Follow Red Bull on Twitter for more news, updates and exclusive info.



    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word at the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details