Paramore Paramore

The Rock Report keeps rock music fans posted on the latest. Check it out every Friday.

This week’s Rock Report focuses on new music for the summer. From original recordings at iTunes (a new feature to beef their music section) that features The Decemberists and the Goo Goo Dolls to new singles from Red Hot Chili Peppers, Paramore, Dangerous! and Blink-182, rock music fans shouldn’t have any complains about not having anything to listen to while enduring the heat. Get the full details about the new music by reading through the Rock Report.

Red Hot Chili Peppers: New Single

The Red Hot Chili Peppers have officially released “The Adventures Of Raindance Maggie,” which serves as the leadoff single from their upcoming tenth studio album “I’m With You.” It’s also the first track to feature new guitarist Josh Klinghoffer. From the sounds of it, he fits right in. The California rockers haven’t lost their touch.

First-Annual Shamrock-N-Roll Festival

The Dropkick Murphys recently announced a pair of benefit shows at Fenway Park with a portion of the proceeds to be given to the Massachusetts 9/11 Fund. Now, the Celtic-tinged punk juggernaut will follow that up with the launch of the first annual Shamrock-N-Roll Festival. The traveling concert series kicks off at the two aforementioned benefit shows and will go up-and-down the east coast with the last edition going down on September 18 at the Electric Factory Lot in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

A few other details have been released about the Shamrock-N-Roll Festival. Aside from The Dropkick Murphys headlining the bill, there will be two more national touring acts that will be featured in a co-headlining capacity. Also tapped for the festival are the Street Dogs, Chuck Ragan, The Mahones, The Parkington Sisters and local bands to be named.

Original Recordings from iTunes

iTunes is beefing up their music section with a pair of original recordings. Goo Goo Dolls just dropped a six-track EP entitled “iTunes Live From Soho,” which was recorded at the Apple Store in the Soho neighborhood of Manhattan, New York, this past December. Also, The Decemberists will release their “iTunes Sessions” EP on August 2. All of the eight tracks were recorded live in Los Angeles, California. Expect more exclusive iTunes releases in the months ahead.

Paramore: “Monster”

Paramore has officially released the video for “Monster,” the second single off the “Transformers: Dark Of The Moon” soundtrack. The music clip depicts the Hayley Williams-lead pop-rock trio lying in water, performing in a concrete room and escaping an abandoned hospital as explosions set off. Yes, the video is pretty explosive!

Kitten: Staying in the Studio

Kitten has some good news and some bad news, and some even more good news. The chick-led indie rock troupe is currently in the studio working on their full-length debut, which means they will not be touring alongside Viva Brother this summer. They will, however, hit the road with Electric Six in the autumn. That tour kicks off September 16 at The Loft in Lansing, Michigan, and will conclude on November 5 at Frankie’s in Toledo, Ohio.

Jack’s Mannequin

Jack’s Mannequin will drop their third studio album “People And Things” on October 4 and is slated to be a concept record. Vocalist Andrew McMahon said, “I consider 'People and Things' a relationship record. My goal with many of the songs was to strip away the flowery language and sentiment attached to newer love and replace it with starker, less blinded language about more binding love.” The leadoff track, “My Racing Thoughts,” is currently streaming on their website,

Blink-182’s New Single

Blink-182’s new single “Up All Night” is out now! The song, which will appear on their upcoming sixth studio effort “Neighborhoods,” is the first piece of original music the group has released in eight years. Although the trio is best known for their pop-punk flavor, “Up All Night” is a bit heavier and takes on more of a rock sound.

New Music from Dangerous!

From the looks of it, Australian garage rock band Dangerous! are living up to their name. The four-piece just premiered their new music video for “Not One Of You.” It serves as the leadoff single to their debut album “Teenage Rampage,” due out September 20. Throughout the clip for “Not One Of You,” the Aussies stage a concert inside a pro wrestling ring. While everything appears normal, terror strikes in mid-guitar solo as a group of masked luchadores invade the ring and begin wrestling one another. Even Dangerous! themselves get involved in the action and, despite a few busted instruments, they emerge victorious.

For more from Bear Frazer, follow him on Twitter.




    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word at the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details