Final destination in the land of cliff diving's origin: Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series 2010 comes to Kawainui Falls in Hilo, Hawaii for its final stop.

Kahekili, the last independent king of Maui, used cliff diving as an initiation rite for his warriors back in the 18th century. Leaping feet first from a high cliff into water without making a splash – otherwise known as “Lele Kawa” – is still the ultimate goal these brave modern warriors. This season’s dominator, Gary Hunt, along with the world’s best athletes in this traditional extreme sport will come to Hilo, Hawaii, on September 12 in an attempt to twist and tuck their way to the crown in the culminating event of the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series.

With a commanding lead of 19 points and only one point away from securing the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series overall title – Englishman Gary Hunt is more than just close to finally bagging his personal season goal: “After last year I was very happy to be second, but being so close to first I really wanted to give myself every chance this year of being in that first position. So I’ve made sure that I’m a little bit more reserved, I take care in every aspect in my life and I just want to give myself every chance of being the champion.” As Russia’s Artem Silchenko (67 pts) kicked himself out of the fight for the title at the competition in Switzerland – he missed his second dive and only finished ninth – it’s only 2009’s series champion Orlando Duque (COL, 74 pts), the nine-time world champion and current Oahu resident, who could mathematically beat the 26-year-old Hunt from Southampton.

In the United States’ wettest city of Hilo on the Big Island, with 200in (5,100mm) of annual rainfall, it’s not only the divers’ final destination that may get wet. After leaping from the 85ft (26m) platform adjacent to a beautiful and powerful waterfall, the entry point into the waters below is likely to be wet as well. Previously used to turn the water wheel that powered electricity for the Onomea Sugar Mill, the privately owned and natural Kawainui Falls ( ka=’s the, wai=’s water, nui=’s large, great) has not only been chosen as the home for several Hollywood feature films, but will be the backdrop for the 2010 World Series winner to be crowned.

Ticketing Information:
The Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series stop in Hilo, Hawaii will be taking place on private land with limited spectator access due to the layout of the venue. Tickets are no longer available, however, a select number of tickets will be made available for spectators free of charge. Just tune-in to 94.7 FM in Hilo and 101.5 FM in Kona for your chance to win free tickets all week long!


12:00 - 2:00 pm -- Competition
2:00pm - 2:30 pm  -- Awards

About Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series 2010
Quite simply, the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series features 12 of the world’s best high divers competing in six challenging competition venues around the globe.  The divers jump 85 feet (26 metres) from the platform, smoothly entering the water below, vying for athletic perfection. The event backdrops include a selection of famous and well-known diving spots, as well as extraordinary natural and challenging urban settings. For the second year, the split between existing and new venues is 50-50. Starting on May 15 in La Rochelle (FRA), the series then took a leap over the Atlantic Ocean to Mexico (Yucatán) and came back to Europe for competitions in Norway (Kragerø), Italy (Polignano a Mare) and Switzerland (Sisikon), before reaching the land of the sport’s origin, Hawaii (Hilo), on September 12 for the grand finale. Red Bull Cliff Diving competitions are judged by five international jurors with scores awarded according to the degree of difficulty and the execution of the dive.

Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series 2010 Feed

Event Details